Carolina Gold

Greensboro, NC United States
Founded: 2001

Active Senior
Return to
Results from final championship competition of the year
  • Position: 201
    • Position 200+ indicates Division II, DCA Class A or DCI Open Class as appropriate to the year, Position 300+ indicates Division III, Position 400+ indicates Mini Corps, Position 500+ indicates International Division, and Position 999 indicates position unknown
  • Score: 82.550
Repertoire for 2018
The Path I Take
Rocky Point Holiday by Ron Nelson Holidays and Epiphanies - Dallas Wind Symphony conducted by Ron Nelson - Reference Recordings (1996) - RR-76CD
Take On Me by Hidden Citizens
Orawa by Wojciech Kilar
One Man Show (from Pollock) by Jeff Beal
Carolina Gold, formed in 2000, is an all-age marching and maneuvering corps based in Eastern North Carolina. In 2001 the corps performed locally and as a minicorps at DCA Championships with a repertoire including "We Will Rock You" and "Bohemian Rhapsody."

2002 saw the corps in its first ever field competition, finishing 15th in DCA Open competition. They finished 13th in 2003.

In rebuilding year of 2004, the corps finished the season tied for 11th place in DCA Open Class Prelims, with a show entitled 'Hanging with Dave [Matthews].'

2005 and 2006 the group made finals at the DCA championships, 8th and 10th respectively. The mini corps was reformed while the field corps took a season off in 2007.

After relocating to Greensboro, NC, the corps has made finals again at the 2009 DCA Class A Finals.

[Dave Strickler, inter alia; DCW, 2/04, p.17; update Dwayne Barnes 7/07 and 6/10]

Members (40)

Member Name Section Years Involved
Allen, Joe Soprano/Euphonium 2001 to 2002
Arrington, David Contra 2003 to 2004
Braswell, Channing Drumline(Tenors) 2001 to 2002; 2004
Callicutt, Bob Soprano 2011
Callicutt, Bob Trumpet 2012
Cooper, Sam Front Ensemble 2017 to 2018
Gifford, Giff Soprano 2002
Gifford, Jonathan Soprano/staff 2002 to 2005
Glover, Bob Brass Caption Head, Pit 2001 to 2002
Green, Chris Co-Founder/Mellophone/Creative Director/Staff 2001 to 2003
Harper, Larry Executive Director 2012 to 2018
Jessee, Josh Guard/Staff 2002
Jones, Andrew pit 2003 to 2004
Kachman, Mike percussion/staff/administration 2001
Kachman, Mike percussion/administration 2002 to 2003
Kessler, Melissa Pit 2002
Kilgore, Alex Baritone 2015
Kupsco, Chris Percussion/Staff 2001 to 2002
Kupsco, Chris Percussion/Staff 2001 to 2002
Kupsco, Chris Percussion 2003
La'Trine, Pierre Contrabass 2002 to 2003
Lopez, Lucien Front Ensemble 2015
Merchant, Wil Trumpet/Soprano 2014
Mickus, David Mellophone 2003 to 2004
Purcell, Ashley Baritone 2013
Rhodes, Matt Soprano 2011 to 2012
Russell, Jeremy contra 2002 to 2005
Sanders, Marc Mellophone 2001
Sgammato, Greg Pit 2005 to 2006
Sroka, David Mellophone 2004 to 2005
Stokes, Keith Soprano 2004 to 2005
Stovall, Tommy Baritone 2003
Tandy, A.D. Percussion 2004; 2006
Trace, Alex Front Ensemble 2005
Vielhaber, David Snare 2007 to 2008
Wheeler, Jessica Mellophone 2005 to 2006
Wood, Jim Baritone 2003
Zolty, Jim Pit 2003
clark, jonathan baritone 2005
wheeler/baker, jessica/cameron Mellophone 2003 to 2005
No collection items available. Please contact us if you have something to contribute.